Terrace student vote nearly matches municipal election results

Thornhill Elementary and Caledonia Senior held their own municipal votes and correctly chose all but one councillor and mayor in Terrace, BC

  • Nov. 17, 2014 1:00 p.m.

Student Vote BC saw an elementary school and a high school in Terrace take part in their own voting processes with surprising results.

Thornhill Elementary and Caledonia Senior students numbering 225 and 545, respectively, cast their ballots and while they elected Bruce Bidgood as mayor with 76 votes over Carol Leclerc with 55 votes, the only other difference from the municipal vote final results was their choice for one city councillor.

The six councillors elected by students were Sean Bujtas with 90 votes, Jessica Miller with 74 votes, James Cordeiro with 68 votes, Michael Prevost with 60 votes, Stacey Tyers with 57 votes and Brian Downie with 55 votes.

In the regular municipal election, five of those councillors were voted in and the one exception to the students’ vote was Lynne Christiansen re-elected as councillor instead of Jessica Miller.

The remaining councillors votes by students were as follows: Allan McIntyre with 47 votes, Lucy Praught with 44 votes, Lynne Christiansen with 43 votes, Don Dunster with 38 votes, Brenda Wesley with 32 votes and Craig Lyons with  31 votes.

Just Posted

College buys a yurt to boost student success

Round tent-like structure part of college instructional shift

Soup kitchen sees “groundswell of community support”

Donations toward looming tax bill push non-profit back in the black

Terrace husband and wife honoured for saving each other’s lives

BC Ambulance presented each a Vital Link Award for separate incidents of CPR

Council supports lobby for fair share of cannabis tax revenue

The City of Terrace is throwing its support behind a West Kelowna… Continue reading

Airport registers modest passenger increase

Manager anticipates further growth in 2018 as expansion project nears completion

Airport registers modest passenger increase

Manager anticipates further growth in 2018 as expansion project nears completion

B.C. commuters vote to rename bus service to ‘Jeff’

The company asked and the people of Facebook answered

Students frustrated by UBCO response to harassment allegations

Students on the Kelowna campus were unaware of resources and worried about lack of communication

Opinion: Dare to be smarter

Just say no works for more than just substance abuse

‘Sing Me a Song’ about B.C. for a chance at $1,000 contest prize

Entries due by March 30 for lieutenant-governor’s British Columbia-themed competition

Facing reality of death, B.C. man learns real meaning of life

Even while preparing for the end, something inside Keven Drews won’t let him stop living

Former B.C. fire chief gets seven months for possession of child porn

The 63-year-old pleaded guilty during a brief hearing last year to one count

B.C. VIEWS: Public school ‘crisis’ doesn’t exist

More teachers pour in, union wants results suppressed

Sacred Ground ancient burial story goes to Philadelphia

VIDEO: Smithers cultural resource company filmed their work of BC Hydro discovery near Hagwilget.

Most Read