Familiar faces appointed to the Northwest Community College board table

Paul Bjorn, Lucy Praught, and Devrie Lapointe were appointed as governors on the board by the province

  • Sat Jan 24th, 2015 7:00pm
  • News

There are some new faces around the Northwest Community College board table, with the appointment of three new members to the currently eight-member board late last year.

Paul Bjorn and Lucy Praught, both of Terrace, and Devrie Lapointe, of Kitimat, were appointed as governors on the board by the provincial lieutenant-governor in council on Dec. 19, 2014 to terms that expire Dec. 31, 2015.

They join the five sitting board members, Judy Carlick-Pearson from Prince Rupert, vice-chair Tom Euverman from Houston, chair Herb Pond from Prince Rupert, Gurvinder Randhawa from Prince Rupert and Donny van Dyk from Terrace.

Bjorn’s biography lists him as treasurer for the Rotary Club of Terrace-Skeena Valley and branch manager of McElhanney Consulting Services Limited.

Praught, a graduate of NWCC and UNBC, is principal and CEO of Spirit Strategies Limited, a community engagement and economic development firm. She ran unsuccessfully for Terrace city council in last year’s municipal elections.

Lapointe is a board member of the Kitimat Rotary Club and the co-ordinator of regional economic development for Rio Tinto Alcan’s Kitimat aluminum smelter modernization project.

The three fill seats left vacant when former chair and Prince Rupert resident Rhoda Witherly, and board members Carol Fielding, Nika Collison and Adrian Carlick stepped down.

Appointed members receive remuneration of $3,000 and the chair receiving $4,000, with that remuneration prorated to the month they were appointed in. For the 2013-2014 term, there were nine board meetings and one board governance session.