Here are Tom Pettersen and Lisa Bullied sweeping the ice during the 57th annual Legion Bonspiel held Jan. 27 - 29 at the Terrace curling rink.

Copeland rink wins bonspiel

The 57th annual legion bonspiel was enjoyed by all says event organizer Mary Ann Misfeldt.

  • Mon Feb 6th, 2012 10:00am
  • Sports

The 57th annual legion bonspiel was enjoyed by all says event organizer Mary Ann Misfeldt.

“It was such a fun weekend,” she said, noting the great sportsmanship and mood present at the event held at the Terrace Curling rink Jan. 27 – 29.

Misfeldt said the finals were pretty tight, with the A event going to Terrace’s Copeland rink. Accepting the first place title, and the Ken Austin memorial trophy, was Warren Copeland as skip, Shane Dejong as third, Dave Reniero as second and Cam Metzger as the lead.

The B event winners and recipients of the Bud Kirkaldy memorial trophy were the Walker rink from Smithers. On the team was Jesse Morgan as skip, Justin Meek as third, Zane Hobenshield as second and Eric Walker as the lead.

The C event and the Peter Barnett memorial trophy winner was the Kennedy rink from Terrace. The team was presented its trophy by four generations of the Barnett family. On the team was John Kennedy as skip, Ian Munson as third, Brian Shack as second and Dave LeFrancois as the lead.

It was the Terrace Curling club’s senior ladies team, the Wyatt rink,  who took the D event, with Cheryl Wyatt as skip, Joan Kucharyshen as third, Marnie Matthews as second and Linda Scott as the lead. The team was presented with the Steve Kutenics memorial trophy.

“All of the ladies’ games were close, they had some really good games,” Misfeldt said.

And despite lower than normal attendance at 17 rinks, Misfeldt is happy with the event.

“Everyone seemed to have a really good time, the food was fantastic, the curling went well, it was really nice,” she said.