Here are the winners of the Men's Loggers Bonspeil

Copeland rink takes two curling wins

Terrace’s Copeland rink has won the Men’s Loggers Bonspiel March 25.

Terrace’s Copeland rink has won the Men’s Loggers Bonspiel March 25, taking the top spot out of 29 participating teams.

The team took on the Ron Vanderstar rink from Smithers in the A event finals, winning the John Williams Memorial trophy.

On the ice was Warren Copeland as skip, Chad Sallenback as third, Shane Dejong as second and Dave Reniero as the lead.

The team is on a roll, having just come off of another A event win in the Men’s Marine Bonspiel in Prince Rupert March 16 – 18, where it was also the defending champs from last year.

With more out-of-town players and eight more rinks on the ice, Reniero said the Men’s Loggers Bonspiel was the tougher win of the two events.

“The competition was much stiffer this past weekend, so we definitely had a bigger challenge,” he explained.

Reniero said the team has been curling together for five years now, and in the last two years has won four out of the five bonspiels it entered.

“We’ve become great friends,” he said of the four teammates. “It’s a good situation.”

In other events at the Men’s Loggers Bonspiel, the B event went to last year’s winners, the Mitch Griffith rink from Terrace. The C event went to the Travis Bernhardt rink from Prince Rupert, and the John Kennedy rink took the top spot in the D event.

“It went fantastic, it was a big success this year,” said Sallenback, who was the bonspiel chair.

He said part of this is the increase in teams over the past few years.

“We are the largest bonspiel in the north and we’re bringing in a lot of out-of-town teams,” Sallenback said.