Voting underway for business awards

The winners will be announced at a chamber of commerce banquet and awards gala on Nov. 22, 2014 at the Best Western

Voting is now open for the Terrace and District Chamber of Commerce’s 2014 Business Excellence Awards.

The top three nominees in each of 14 categories were unveiled at a reception hosted by the chamber Oct. 17 at the Skeena Valley Golf and Country Club.

Chamber executive director Carol Fielding notes that voting is not restricted to members of the Chamber of Commerce.

Everyone in the community is welcome to vote through a variety of means but she cautions that only one ballot per person is permitted.

Here are the nominee finalists:

Contributor to the arts: Iliana Perez Quiles, the Pacific Northwest Music Festival, Misty River Books.

Employee of the year: Marci Holmquist from Canadian Tire, Erin Cohoon from Your Decor, Sharon Banovic from Misty River Books.

Home based business: Terri’s Hair Studio, Jessie Porter from Twisted Orchard Studio, Scott Pearson from Cracked Glass.

Company of the year: Northwest Fuels Ltd., Coast Mountain Wireless, Kondolas Furniture.

Rookie of the year: Revolution Health and Fitness, Mumford’s Beer House, Chill and Grill Restaurant.

Retailer of the year: Kondolas Furniture, Misty River Books, McBike.

Executive of the year: Inspector Dana Hart from the Terrace RCMP, Glen Saunders from Skeena Landing, Gary MacCarthy from MacCarthy Motors.

Tourism excellence: Pioneer Fishing Lodge, Skeena Valley Farmer’s Market Association, Heritage Park Museum.

Community booster: 100th Celebration Committee, Yvonne Moen, Constable Angela Rabut.

Customer service award: Terrace Interiors, Cafenara, Kondolas Furniture.

Newsmaker of the year: City of Terrace/Kitselas First Nation for the Skeena Industrial Park Development, the Terrace-Kitimat Airport Society for the expansion of the Northwest Regional Airport, Terrace Search and Rescue and the many volunteers who participated in the fall 2013 search for two missing mushroom pickers.

Family friendly business: Northern Savings Credit Union, Hawkair, Terrace Child Development Centre – Park Center.

Welcoming and inclusive workplaces; Cafenara, Canada Safeway – Terrace, Ksan House.

Volunteer of the year: Kerry and Kenny Giesbrecht, Constable Angela Rabut, Anne Evans.

There are a number of ways in which people can vote.

One is by marking the ballot contained on Page A9 of this week’s edition of The Terrace Standard.

It can then be faxed to the chamber at 250-635-2573 or emailed to

Another way, online, is also available by going to

Voting closes at midnight on Oct. 31, says Fielding.

The category winners will be announced at a chamber of commerce banquet and awards gala which takes place on Nov. 22, 2014 at the  Best Western Terrace Inn.